Touchpoint Software Documentation | Email Drafts

Email Drafts

When preparing to send an email, you have the option to Save as a Draft. This Draft will remain private, available only to you, unless you share it. There are the following options available relating to Drafts:

  1. Creating and saving a Draft before sending an email
  2. Editing and/or Sending a Saved Draft
  3. Sharing Drafts

Create and Save a Draft

Step 1

Go to any people record (I normally using my own) and the Blue Toolbar > Email > Create/Edit Saved Draft.

Note

You can actually create a new draft or edit an existing one by selecting that option (Create/Edit Saved Draft) from anywhere that you see the Blue Toolbar.

Step 2

Select the appropriate the Template, and compose your email, including the subject.

See also

Sending Emails

Step 3
Click Save as Draft button.
Step 4

Enter the name of the Draft and click Submit.

Note

Only for new drafts do you enter the name. When saving edits to an existing draft, the draft will be saved with the original name followed by a version number. See the section Multiple Versions of Saved Drafts below.

At this point, you can Send Test Email (to me), or you can leave the page. The draft will be saved. You can continue to return and edit the draft until you are ready to send it.

Saving Draft after Finding Target Audience

If you find your target audience, select a saved draft, make changes to that draft, and then click Save Current Draft, the recipient list will be removed and you will see the count change to 0. At this point, if you send the email it will go only to you. This is to keep you from making edits and accidentally sending your email to your list before you are ready.

Edit a Saved Draft

Step 1
Go to any people record (I normally using my own) and the blue Toolbar > Email > Create/Edit Saved Draft.
Step 2
Click My Drafts tab on the Select Template page, and the click on the draft you want to edit.
Step 3
After editing the draft, click Save Current Draft.

At this point, you can Send Test Email (to me), or you can leave the page. The edited draft will be saved. You can continue to return and edit the draft until you are ready to send it.

Multiple Versions of Saved Drafts

If you save a draft multiples times, you might need to revert to an earlier version, so TouchPoint will save those versions for you. You, of course, name your draft the first time you save it, and open that one then next time you want to edit it. When you save that version, it will be named [name of draft]v.1. Your original will be named just [name of draft] without a version number. If you always select the latest version, the numbering will look something like the image below.

This allows you to select any version you want in case you want to revert to an earlier version.

http://i.tpsdb.com/2016-04-08_13-43-33-1.png

Multiple Versions of the Same Draft

Send a Saved Draft

Step 1

Go to your recipient list - that is, the Organization, Tag, or Search Results to whom you want to send the email, and select the Blue Toolbar > Email > Individuals.

Note

Of course, you can also select Parents or Child with Parents CC’d.

Step 2

Click My Drafts tab on the Select Template page, and then click on the draft you want to send.

Note

Saved Drafts will be listed on either the My Drafts, Team Drafts, or Shared tabs.

Step 3

Verify that your email message is complete, and then note the following options/actions:

  • Press Save Current Draft
    • If you do not want to send the email, this will save the changes to your draft and you can repeat steps above when you are ready to edit it again or send it.
  • Press Send Test (to me)
    • This will send a test to you for proofing. Close the Test Email Sent box to continue. At that point, you can select one of the other options, either Save Current Draft or Send. You can use the test email as often as needed to view your email as your recipient will see it.
  • Press Send
    • This will send the email to your recipient list. By default, the draft will be saved, until you go to Create/Edit Saved Draft and delete it.

Share Saved Drafts

When you follow the steps below, you will be sharing all of your saved drafts with everyone that you add to this tag. You can remove users from the tag at any time. Until you remove them, they can access any of your shared drafts.

Exception

If you have a Saved Draft that was created using a Template and that Template was restricted to users in a specific role, the user will not be able to access your Saved Draft unless they are also in that same role. In other words, you cannot violate the restrictions on a Template by sharing your Drafts with someone who is restricted from using the Template.

Step 1
Go to Manage Tags and create a new Tag with the name SharedDrafts

See also

Tags

Step 2
With SharedDrafts as your Active Tag, find the user/users with whom you want to share the tag and add them to the Tag.

Important

  • Do not share your SharedDrafts Tag, just add people to this Tag. By virtue of their being in the Tag, they have access to your Shared Drafts.
  • Manage your SharedDrafts tag periodically. If you add someone to your SharedDrafts tag in order to collaborate on a specific Draft, once the collaboration has ended, you can remove them from your SharedDrafts tag.
  • Saved Drafts that were created using a Template available to Everyone can be shared with any user, regardless of their roles.

© 2018 TouchPoint Software, LLC.  All rights reserved.