Active and Inactive Involvements

Active Involvements
These are Involvements that are currently being used, whether they have members or are being used to track headcounts and guests. The Involvement Status will be Active.
Inactive Involvements

These are Involvements that are no longer having meetings (the semester/term has ended), or Involvements used for events that have already taken place, or just any Involvement that is no longer actively being used. Once the term/event/etc has ended, all the members should be dropped and the Status should be changed to Inactive.

Before you change the status to Inactive, you should drop all the members. Even though members are dropped, you can still find who was previously enrolled by looking at the Previous Members tab on the Involvement or by running a search.

Changing the Status

The Involvement Status is in the header section on the Involvement page. Click the blue Status badge and select Inactive. Click the blue checkmark to save your changes.

An Inactive Involvement can be used again if it is being used for the same purpose. Just click the blue Status badge and change the Status back to Active. Click the blue checkmark to save your changes.

Examples:

  1. You have 6 Vacation Bible School classes. After VBS has ended for the current year, drop all the members and change the Status of each Involvement to Inactive. The next year, instead of creating new Involvements, just change the Status to Active and enroll the new members.
  2. You have a bus committee that has members, but the church has decided not to have a bus committee next year. Drop the members and change the Status to Inactive. If you ever need that same committee again, you can make it Active.

Note

To find inactive Involvements, navigate to Involvements > Search / Manage and change the Status filter to Inactive.

Tip

If you have a lot of Involvements to make Inactive, your System Admin can use the Batch Actions - Update Involvements to import a spreadsheet with the status changed from Active (ID is 30) to Inactive (ID is 40).

Warning

Never delete Involvements if they have been used, as you will lose the enrollment and attendance history associated with the Involvement. Also, deleted Involvements cannot be recovered. A special is role required to delete an Involvement or a person.

© 2021 TouchPoint Software, LLC.  All rights reserved.