Saved Searches¶
For basic Search Builder instructions, including how to create a new search and save it, you will want to review the main Search Builder article.
Note
With no filters selected, users with the Admin role see every user’s saved searches, including private ones. Other users see their own searches and searches marked Public.
Note
Search Builder Restrictions: when the RestrictSearchBuilder setting is turned on, users without the Admin role don’t see the New button or the action icons on the Saved Searches page.
See also
Open and Run a Saved Search¶
- Your Saved Searches
All searches that you create, will display on your Home Page under My Searches. Click the name of the search to open and run it.
- Public Saved Searches
In the menu bar under People > Search Builder, click Saved. From the Saved Searches page, find the search you want and click on the title to open in. Click on Search Name header to sort searches alphabetically. You can also use the Search Name / Owner box to look for a search by name, partial name or Owner’s user name.
- Run the Search
Once you’ve opened a search, if you have Auto Refresh selected, the search will run automatically. If not, click the Run button. If you check Auto Refresh and leave it selected, that setting will be retained for the next time you run a search.
Other Options on Saved Searches¶
Filter¶
To limit the searches in the list, check any (or a combination) of the following boxes and then press the blue Filter button:
- My Searches
This will display just the searches you own, not anyone else’s public searches.
- Public
This will show you all searches that are public, regardless of the owner.
- Drafts
This will display your last five drafts that were not saved. If you are an Admin, you will also see the last five drafts of all users.
Note
All new searches begin as a draft. Your five most recent drafts will be saved automatically. The system will save the current search as a draft for you, so you don’t have to explicitly save it. Once you save a search and name it, it becomes a saved search.
- Status Flags (Run Order)
This will display only Status Flags that are public unless you are the Owner or an Admin. You will see a Run Order column which will indicate the run order assigned to select status flags. If two status flag searches have the same number, they will run in alphabetical order by search name. Run order is important when one status flag is contingent on the results of another flag.
See also
You can also create a New search from here as well as from the People > Search Builder menu.
Sort¶
You can select any of the following column headers to sort by that column: Search Name, Owner, Public, Status Flag, Last Run, and Count.
Actions¶
- Edit
Select the Pencil icon to change the name of your search, owner, and visibility (Public or not). Here you will designate the search as a Status Flag by checking the box. The Owner field and the Status Flag options are shown only to users with the Admin or StatusFlag role; other users see only Search Name and Public. Additional options include adding a Run Order, Limit to Role, Display as a Badge (and color options), Picture Border, Store History and assigned Points (for Engagement Score).
See also
- Copy
Select the Copy icon to create a new search draft comprised of the same conditions as the corresponding search.
- Delete
Click the Trash Can icon to delete your saved search.
Important
Who can edit or delete a saved search:
Edit: anyone who can see a saved search in the list can click the Pencil icon and change its name or Public setting. This includes other users’ Public searches, not just your own.
Status Flag searches: only users with the Admin or StatusFlag role can edit them.
Delete: only the owner of the saved search or a user with the Admin role can delete it.
See also
Auto Remove Archive Flag Saved Search¶
Every database will have a Saved Search called Auto Remove Archive Flag with Admin as the Owner. This search will run each morning and will remove the Archived flag from anyone’s record if they match this search criteria. Be sure to review this existing search and its Search Conditions; modify it to suit your church’s needs.
Important
After editing the search, the Admin must still be the Owner.
To enable this Saved Search, toggle the AutoRemoveArchiveFlag setting by navigating to Admin > Advanced > Settings, then the System tab, Administration section. You must have the Admin role to change settings.
See also
Latest Update |
10/16/2026 |
Updated the Settings menu path, documented who can edit and delete saved searches, who sees the Owner and Status Flag options, Admin visibility, and the Search Builder Restrictions setting.
